The Heart of a 6 Year Old

https://www.gofundme.com/7z-support-the-moore-family

My amazing school family created a GoFundMe account for our family when I received my diagnosis in November. I am so incredibly touched by their generosity, and I love that this has started a snowball of other good deeds. For me and for others. Kindness matters!

I’m sure by now, most of you have seen my post regarding one of my precious students, Kiptin. Sweet Kiptin is 6. 6 years old. Since I have been sick, Kiptin has been looking for ways to help our family so that I can “get better faster”. I had absolutely no idea what this 6 year old was capable of. I had no idea what a blessing a 6 year old could be. This family has continued to bless me since the beginning of last year when I had his brother, Nolan in my class. From day 1, I’ve known there was something special about these boys. I would take them home in a heartbeat. For some reason, their mom won’t let me. Weird. She won’t even let me offer it to the because I think she’s afraid they would take me up on it. 🙂

Their hugs…they are like magic. They erase everything negative and fill my heart with pure joy…and that was before I was sick. Imagine what those hugs do for me now.

During my third round while I was in the hospital, Colleen (mom) brought Kiptin up to see me. He brought chocolate chip cookies that he baked all by himself. He was so proud. Not just of the cookies, but of the fact that he had done something that he knew would make my happy. How many 6 year olds are that aware or their surroundings? And that empathic? Not many, I can assure you of that.

Needless to say, the cookies were delicious. Everyone who was visiting at the hospital at the time had one and raved about how great they were. This sparked something in sweet Kiptin. After they left the hospital and headed home, Kiptin asked his mom if he could start a cookie business where he could come home from school, bake cookies, and then sell them, and be able to surprise Mrs. Moore with 100% of the profit. Y’all. He’s SIX YEARS OLD. There are adults out there that don’t think like that. Heck, most people don’t think like that.

Once they figured out everything they would need to put the plan into action, Colleen posted in their neighborhood Facebook group. Here’s the original post.

screenshot_20170209-222107resized_screenshot_20170209-222117

Within 2 hours of posting, he already had 48 orders…and 86 orders by that afternoon. That’s a total of 104 orders within just a few hours. When he finished making those, he opened up orders to the staff at school. He got orders from them…and more from the neighborhood.

Last week, Colleen text me and asked me if they could come visit because Kiptin had a surprise. I had a feeling that by then, I was going to want to get out of the house, so I offered to come to their house the next Thursday. I had absolutely no idea what I had coming.

When I got there, shy Kiptin wouldn’t really spit out many words, but he sure was grinning ear to ear. Colleen explained what he had done, how many orders he had gotten, etc. Then Kiptin came over and handed me an envelope. In that envelope was $1,050. All from cookies. Made by a 6 year old. A 6 year old who cared so deeply for his teacher that he wanted to help raise money for her to help pay her bills so that she could focus on getting better faster. I just can’t fathom the size of this little guy’s heart. He and his brother(s). How do you teach your 6 and 7 year olds to care like that? To put others before themselves? In a broken world with so much negativity, these boys are shining a light for all to see. I can’t wait for them to grow up, look back, and remember what they did. I hope they’ll be proud of themselves…because I know they have made a whole slew of people prouder than words can express.

img_6571img_6572

As I sit here writing this, I am brought to tears sobbing. I know that’s not surprising, but I’m constantly stopping to clear the tears so I can see the screen. This week was a rough one. Not only was it hard physically, but also mentally. I’ve avoided typing this because I haven’t quite come to accept it…but over the past few days, my eyelashes have been falling out. They have thinned quite a bit just this week. As I’m sure you’ve read in previous posts…this has been one of my greatest fears. I kept telling everyone that I could pull through all of this as long as I was able to keep my eyelashes. Well, silly me. I have prayed long and hard that I can keep the few eye lashes that I still have. You know, it’s funny. It’s funny that out of everything going on, my eyelashes are what I’m sad about. Shouldn’t I be sad about being bald? Or sad that I’ve got horrible drugs pumped into my body that make me feel like crud? Shouldn’t I be sad that I can’t hold and play with my babies like I should be able to? No, its my stupid eye lashes that I’m sad about. Ugh.

I’m almost afraid to admit that. It seems so vain…so embarrassing. But, it is what it is. My eye lashes are what made me feel pretty. They brought me comfort when I didn’t have hair. They distracted people/myself from the fact that my head looked like a cue ball. Fortunately, I don’t think it’s my eyelashes that keep my friends around. If so, I’m in trouble.

I cried many times week, mainly out of frustration. Several times I was caught feeling sorry for myself. I finally forced myself to get out of the house today before I went stir crazy. Although my body has been hurting, I had to get up and get out. And boy I’m glad I did. The moment I got to see two of my very favorite boys, and one of the handed me that envelope, nothing else mattered at that point. One boy handed me an envelope, and the other one handed me a shirt that said “Grateful, Thankful, and Blessed”…and that couldn’t be more true. I am so grateful for the incredible support we have received from this family, thankful to have had the opportunity to be Nolan and Kiptin’s teacher, and blessed beyond belief by their entire family. I will never be able to express to them just how much I love and appreciate them.

Rob and Colleen, you two are raising 4 remarkable boys who will soon be young men. Their impact on this world is going to leave all of us speechless. Thank you for sharing your boys with me and allowing them to be two of the greatest blessings in my life. I will never forget the feeling I had today…thank you for allowing them to provide that for me.

I would absolutely LOVE for sweet Kiptin to be recognized for his huge heart. I want for people to see that there is still good in the world. There are still little people who are making a huge difference. Stories like this don’t get shared enough…but the negative ones do.

I adore Ellen DeGeneres. I love what she’s about. I love that she’s real and that she stays true to who she is, despite the crazy world we live in. I also love that she likes to spread kindness and highlight other people who do the same. Do you think it’s possible that we could get this story to her? What a rewarding experience this would be for Kiptin…and for me too, let’s be real.

If this sweet story hasn’t encouraged you to spread kindness in some way or another, I now challenge you. I challenge you to do something nice for someone…a friend, neighbor, or a stranger. When you do, will you post it with the hashtag #TeamAshley? Not to brag, or gloat, but to show that kindness can easily be spread. Take it from a 6 year old.

 

 

10 thoughts on “The Heart of a 6 Year Old

  1. Your eyelashed will grow back and you will be healthy again. Not a bad tradeoff. When I went through chemo ALL of my hair fell out except the hair on my LEGS! How could that happen?? There is life after chemo, a more appreciative life with a true perspective of what matters. Keep going…you’ll be through that nasty stuff soon. Sally Walden

  2. Passing this story on. From one Frisco teacher to another rock on sister friend. You have got this. Praying for you! Warned by the love and hope of these boys!

  3. This is Kiptin’s grandmother. Per your request and through people I know, I have forwarded your message to The Ellen Show. I know how much you mean to my family and to all who know you. I wish and pray for your complete recovery as I have faith. Bless you for who you are and all you do. You are truly loved.

  4. Tears!! Love what is happening here and would love to share it with our viewers on Good Day FOX 4. Would love to have you and Kiptin on Good Day. Please let me know the best way to contact you. Thank you for your time and keep up the fight!!
    Best,
    Lauren Przybyl
    Good Day Fox 4 Anchor
    prz21@hotmail.com (personal email)

  5. You are beautiful inside and out Ashley! So proud of this boy and what he has done for you and your family! Such a sweet heart!

  6. I found you from Shay Shull sharing your story and I then shared it with my people. Praying for healing. So thankful you are surrounded by so much love and support! Hope you get on Ellen! I voted for you and Kiptin!

Leave a Reply

