Preparing for Round 4…and Monica Potter

Last week, one of my dear friends who we used to live across the street from in our old neighborhood sent me a message. Here’s what it said:

“Hey girlie! So…I loved your post about Parenthood. I was seriously obsessed with that show and Monica Potter (Kristina), so much so that I actually follow her on Facebook. I hope you don’t care, but I messaged her your post and SHE MESSAGED ME BACK AND YOU!!! WHAT?!”

So of course, I did what any obsessive fan would do and asked for screen shots for proof…

img_6398img_6399img_6400

Y’ALL! MONICA POTTER READ MY POST ABOUT PARENTHOOD…AND SHE LIKED IT. How awesome is that? I mean, I think it’s pretty dang cool. She mentioned that she was going to share it if I was okay with it…but I said “No.” Ha! Who am I kidding?! I said yes while jumping up and down with tears in my eyes. However…it has been a week and she still hasn’t shared it. I may or may not check her Facebook page every 32 minutes seconds to see if there is an update…nothing yet. I’m sure she’s not busy doing anything else…what’s taking so long?

I mean this basically means we’re best friends now, right? I’m pretty much hoping I get to meet her some day and get a picture with her…hey, a girl a dream. But really, let’s get this up. I promise not to stalk her…I just need to meet her…and become friends. Is that too much to ask? I’m a fun girl. I can try to make her laugh…and maybe get her to try on some pretty new lip stick. No? Too far?

Round 4 Begins…
Well, here we go! My counts weren’t fantastic, but they were good enough to continue with Round 4. There’s a chance I will still need a blood transfusion because my Hemoglobin is so low…but we will cross that bridge when we come to it. It sounds like it’s not a big deal and we would continue with chemo at the same time.

From my last post, I went to the oncologist last week for an injection to boost my white blood cells. When I went back to the doctor on Friday to have my levels checked, my white blood cells had gone up to 27.7. They were at 12 on Tuesday. So, needless to say, the shots worked. They made me feel like complete crud, but they worked.

Here we are on the way to the hospital and getting checked into my room this morning. So thankful for this guy. Thankful that he has chosen to stay by my side during this whole hoorah. You are one of a kind, Danny Moore.

Last week when I was out running errands with my sister in law, she said that I didn’t need to worry about decorations for my room for the next round of treatment. I LOVE having my room decorated, so I was so excited to see what she had come up with.

She reached out to different schools in Frisco, many of which I knew people from working with them before…she received hundreds of Valentine cards and decorations hand made my students and teachers throughout the district. My sister had people at my current school add to the decorations…so special. Oh. my. word. I have absolutely loved reading each and every one. She and my grandma came up and played Cupid while I was getting hooked up. Not every single card was hung up because well, we ran out of space and didn’t have a ladder…but thank you to each and every person who took the time to make something for my room. It has not only brought pure happiness to me, but also to each and every person that comes in my room. Other nurses come in and comment about how cheery and bright it is…and how they wish every room was like this. Here are some pictures…they don’t quite do it justice. It is BEAUTIFUL. “We Whaley Love You”…ahhh, so precious!

img_6368img_6366img_6365img_6369img_6396img_6397

img_6395

My mama is staying with me tonight…and we match. 🙂

img_6391

I got to FaceTime with these two. I hate FaceTime…but I sure love that girl and her daddy. I am so thankful that they get to have this time together.

This past weekend, we had big plans to celebrate one of our dear neighbor’s birthdays. (Happy Birthday, Ding Ding!) I’ve posted about them before…guys, it’s true. His last name is Dingler. For real. Hence the nickname, Ding Ding. We have been blessed to become extremely close with his entire family. We were fortunate to get to celebrate his birthday with some of our dearest friends.

On Friday, I wasn’t quite sure I was going to make it out on Saturday. I was feeling pretty crummy, but was taking it easy in hopes that I would be able go…and not feel horrible while I was there. Since we were able to get babysitters, we decided to make a night out of it and head to Fort Worth. Here are a few pictures from the night. We went to Wild Salsa for dinner and then headed to Pete’s Piano Bar. Oh.My.Goodness.Gracious. Wild Salsa was de-licious…and our waiter was a riot. I LOVE the picture we got after dinner. I am a little obsessed with these people. The best neighbors make the best best friends.

*Sidenote: I’m using the free version of WordPress, so I can’t post videos. What does this mean for you? It means that you won’t be able to watch Jonathan sing Ice Ice Baby on stage in front of a whole bunch of people. I’m sorry to let you down…it would have made your day.

img_6340

img_6401

I’m so bummed this picture didn’t turn out. Although, I do spy a bald head…

img_6336img_6325img_6335

img_6332

My main squeeze.

img_6329

Don’t mind the fact that my head looks like a light bulb…

img_6342

More #TeamAshley Support

img_6341

Here are some pictures of our sweet babies over the weekend and on Monday after school. They are loved so well by their grandparents. We are so blessed. Thank you for loving them so well!

And finally, more #Team Ashley pictures. The two on the left are from my prior school, Robertson. I miss each and every one of you–thank you for your support! On the right, two of my precious neighbors. 🙂 Keep the pictures coming!

Well, we’re almost done with Day 1. We’re just trucking along. I had one of my very favorite nurses today…not a bad way to start the week. 🙂 I get to have her again on Friday.

Please pray that these nurses are blessed…they have been such a blessing to me…I want them to be blessed in return. They are the best around. I’m going to force them to take pictures this week so you can meet all of them. You’ll be better for knowing them. 🙂

Thank you for all of your prayers, they are working!

2 thoughts on “Preparing for Round 4…and Monica Potter

  1. Thanks for sharing your journey. Your prayers are being heard ;our prayers are being heard. You have a wonderful husband and precious children. God bless!

  2. You have much love and many prayers from friends, students and family surrounding you ! Such a beautiful sight! Keep kicking butt during round 4 sweet lady! 😘Xoxo 🙏🏻

Leave a Reply

