Love is Louder than Cancer

Several weeks ago, I got text from our Nurse at school saying that someone from a non-profit organization was going to be contacting me soon. I didn’t think much of it at the time…but then I saw the name of the organization–Love is Louder than Cancer. What an incredible name! And I have never agreed with that name more than I do right now. I’m sure you’ve read previous posts where I have mentioned that love is an incredible thing. I have experience love like never before the past month. I will never forget the amount of love I have felt.

Moving forward…I got an email from a precious lady named Dianna Bacon. We emailed back and forth several times throughout the next week. I had never met her before…but she blessed our family in the most incredible way.

The foundation was started by a woman named Kelly who’s youngest daughter was diagnosed with Leukemia at the age of two. Less than a year later, Kelly was diagnosed with stage 3 breast cancer. Stop there. I can’t even imagine going through all of this with my daughter sick at the same time. I can’t imagine my two year old (or any age for that matter) going through chemo and experiencing all of the horrid side effects…all while I was going the same.

Anyway, Kelly believed their story was meant to be shared to help others…so Love Is Louder Than Cancer was born. She started this organization to spread love by providing emotional and financial support to families battling cancer. I can proudly say, their organization has done just that. Kelly’s daughter, Lainey, is currently in remission. And in late 2014, Kelly received a double mastectomy which later revealed she was cancer free. Praise the Lord.

I have been emailing/texting back and forth with both Kelly and Dianna. They have no idea what a blessing they have been for our family. They gifted us with tickets to ICE at the Gaylord Texan as well as a Visa gift card to help with gifts for Christmas. Some brilliant person decided to put a Build-A-Bear store at the exit of ICE. Again, whoever decided this is absolutely brilliant. You can’t escape without buying a darn animal. We were able to use the Visa gift card to buy Harper an “Anna” bear from Frozen. Once again, we are so truly blessed. We typically would not have spent money on something like this, but because of LILTC, we were able to say yes. When we were walking away, Harper was holding Anna and said, “Mommy, Anna makes me so happy. I just love her.” And my heart melted. She got Elsa when Hudson was born and had been asking periodically for Anna…thank you for making this possible. We are forever grateful for this organization and the people behind it. I am hoping and praying that we will have a testimony to share at the end of all of this and that will be able to contribute to organizations like LILTC. It has been so incredibly comforting hearing from families who have been in our shoes. It has been amazing hearing their stories and seeing their faith hold steady through it all.

Because of this organization, we were able to take Harper for a night away and to temporarily forget about our current reality. We were able to allow her to have fun and enjoy being a kid…something I feel like we haven’t been able to do as much recently. Seeing the pure joy on her face is something I will never forget. Hearing her giggle as she rode down the ice slide on a tube is something that we never would have been able to experience at this time.

Kelly and Dianna, you have been such a blessing to us. Thank you for sharing your story and allowing us to be a part of it.

img_5217

img_5218

img_5225

img_5234

img_5236

img_5238

img_5242

img_5229

img_5245

Leave a Reply

